Hillsborough police officers receive Lifesaving Awards

Pictured from left: Mayor Shawn Lipani, Officer John A. Johnson, Officer Christopher Michaels and Officer Tyler Ott.
Several Hillsborough Township police officers received Lifesaving Awards for their brave actions.
Mayor Shawn Lipani presented Officer Dillon Kelly with a proclamation on Oct. 26 honoring him for receiving the CPR Lifesaving Award.
On June 6, 2020, at approximately 6:46 a.m., Kelly was dispatched to the Royce Brook Golf Club on the report of an unconscious male. Upon his arrival, he found John McDonald, who was not breathing and had no pulse. Kelly began lifesaving measures by performing CPR and continued until he was relieved by first responders from Robert Wood Johnson EMS, according to the proclamation.
Lipani then presented Officers Joseph Desmond and Dennis Rivera with a proclamation for receiving the CPR Lifesaving Award.
On Feb. 27, 2020, Desmond and Rivera were dispatched to a residence on a report of an unresponsive person with CPR in progress by a family member. The two officers found no pulse and continued lifesaving measures including attaching a defibrillator until the victim then began to move and breathe on his own, according to the proclamation.
Finally, Lipani honored Officers John A. Johnson, Christopher Michaels and Tyler Ott with a proclamation honoring them for saving the life of a Hillsborough resident.
On Feb. 1, 2020, Officers Johnson, Michaels and Ott were dispatched to a residence on a report of a 76-year-old unresponsive female. The three officers took over CPR and lifesaving measures, including attaching a defibrillator; and continued with lifesaving measures for 14 minutes until EMS arrived and it was discovered that the victim had regained a pulse, according to the statement.