Candidates earn place on ballot for November municipal elections

Candidates who are running for municipal office in 2019 have been confirmed and will make their case to the electorate when the campaign season begins after Labor Day.

The June 4 primary election gave voters a chance to select the individuals whose names will appear on the November general election ballot.

In Colts Neck, one three-year term on the Township Committee will be on the ballot in November. Republican Sue Fitzpatrick secured her nomination on primary day. There were 20 write-in votes cast in the Colts Neck Democratic primary. Monmouth County officials are in the process of determining if there will be a Democrat placed on the November ballot.

In Englishtown, Republican Mayor Thomas Reynolds secured his nomination and will run unopposed in November for a new four-year term. Republican Borough Council members Greg Wojyn and Dan Marter locked up their nominations on June 4 and will run unopposed for new three-year terms.

Freehold Borough will have a contested mayor’s race and a contested Borough Council race in the fall. On primary day, incumbent Democratic Councilman Kevin Kane secured his party’s nomination for mayor. His running mates for council will be Councilwoman Margaret Rogers and Adam Reich. On the Republican ticket, Marianne Earle was nominated to run for mayor. Her running mates for council will be Lori Annetta and Michael Lichardi.

In Freehold Township, one three-year term on the Township Committee will be on the ballot on Election Day. Seeking the seat are Republican Maureen Fasano and Democrat Scott Berlin. Both residents are seeking their first term on the governing body.

Manalapan will have a contested election when two Republicans and two Democrats vie for a pair of three-year terms on the Township Committee. Nominated to run for office on primary day were incumbent Republican Committeewoman Mary Ann Musich and her GOP running mate Eric Nelson, and Democrats Kathleen Williams and Amelia Rendeiro.

In Marlboro, Democratic Mayor Jonathan Hornik will seek his fourth four-year term and will be challenged by Republican Derek DeLuca. Incumbent Democratic Township Council members Randi Marder and Michael Scalea will seek re-election to new four-year terms. Their Republican opponents will be Marielaina LaRosa and Marianne Longobardi, both of whom have previously sought public office in the township.