HomeEB SentinelEB Sentinel NewsMonroe Board of Education begins new chapter

Monroe Board of Education begins new chapter

MONROE – The Monroe Board of Education reorganized with new leadership and new faces.

Kathleen Belko, Karen Bierman and Christine Skurbe were sworn in to their board seats at the reorganization meeting on Jan. 4. The newcomers won the three, three-year terms available on the Monroe Board of Education (BOE) for the election on Nov. 3.

Paul Rutsky was sworn in to serve as the Jamesburg representative on the board for another term.

Board member Michele Arminio was elected board president and Adi Nikitinsky was selected to serve as board vice president.

“My expectation is all of us will bring new and innovative ideas to the district’s table,” Arminio said. “We’re a team. I think we will be able to lead by good example.”

Nikitinsky said with new leadership and new members, the board is starting a new chapter to restore the public’s faith and trust of the Board of Education.

“For years, the board was clattered by personal and political agendas, mistrust and lack of transparency,” he said. “Our promise to our community and staff is we will have a mutual partnership in pursuit of full transparency and accountability, we will be partners with one mission, to provide the highest quality of education for our kids and ensure fiscal conservatism to our community.”

- Advertisment -

Stay Connected


Current Issue