Deputy mayor, council members sworn in


Share post:

ABERDEEN — At its annual reorganization meeting on Jan. 3, Aberdeen Township announced the appointment of Councilwoman Margaret Montone as deputy mayor and swore in four recently elected council members.

Montone takes over for Harvey Brenner, who chose not to run for re-election. She previously served as deputy mayor from 2012-2014. She has been a member of the Aberdeen Township Council since 2009. Re-elected council members taking the oath of office from Congressman Frank Pallone at the meeting included Greg Cannon, Connie Kelley and Robert Swindle. They were joined on the Township’s governing body by first-time member Arthur Hirsch.

- Advertisement -

A resident of Aberdeen since 1987, Hirsch is a member of the Aberdeen Township Planning Board, a past member of the Aberdeen Economic Business Council and a past secretary of the Matawan-Aberdeen Chamber of Commerce.

At the meeting, the Council also announced appointments for Township attorney, bond counsel, prosecutor, public defender, auditor, tax appeals, labor attorney

Stay Connected


Current Issue

Latest News

Related articles

New Jersey needs law to control invasive species

By Tom Gilbert What happens in Vegas may stay in Vegas, but what happens in New Jersey yards and...

Monmouth County News Briefs, Jan. 25

The Assembly Judiciary Committee on Jan. 19 cleared a bill sponsored by Assemblywoman Vicky Flynn (R-Monmouth) that would,...

What’s happening in nature during winter’s chill?

By Alison Mitchell New Jersey was quite frigid in December, but temperatures warmed as the new year arrived. So...

Middletown Sun and Tinton Falls-Eatontown Sun Datebook, Jan. 25

• New Jersey Blood Services, a division of New York Blood Center, is conducting blood drives which are...